I left the crazies on the Right and feel redeemed. However, I do not have to agree with everything my new friends in the Progressive Movement propose. On Sunday I attended, as a delegate, the Democratic convention in my congressional district. One of the proposed resolutions was to legalize, regulate and tax marijuana, as we do alcohol and tobacco.
Alcohol and tobacco have cost the people of this nation more in money and death than any other preventable and avoidable cause, depending upon one’s view of our wars. I cannot, in good conscience, add another. I will be told that pot does not harm like alcohol and tobacco. In excess it does, and although the health impact on the user may be minimal in the instant, it is is there in the long run and a “stoned” driver, machine operator, employee is a danger to others, harms the work product and costs money.
I cannot make that leap.
If we wish to tax and regulate something that will help the health of the nation, lets levy it onto high fructose corn syrup. We are becoming the “Children of the Corn.”

